Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   JOIN FPA
Community Search

News & Press: News Release

Ft. Lauderdale Resident Named Pharmacist of the Year

Saturday, June 27, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Michael Jackson
Share |

June 27, 2015

For Immediate Release: June 27, 2015
Media Inquiries: Michael Jackson, Executive Vice-President & CEO; 850-222-2400,



ST AUGUSTINE, FLORIDA - During the Florida Pharmacy Association’s 125th Annual Meeting & Convention held June 24 – 28, 2015 at the Renaissance Resort at World Golf Village in St. Johns County, Florida, Angela Garcia, PharmD, MPH, CPh was named the 2015 recipient of the James H. Beal Award – “Pharmacist of the Year”.

Dr. Garcia is a 2008 alumnus from the Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy, and is a Florida licensed pharmacist as well as a licensed consultant pharmacist. She received the Master of Public Health degree with honors from Nova Southeastern and also is credentialed with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology with a Minor in Juvenile Justice and Delinquency from the University of Kansas. She is currently on the College of Osteopathic Medicine faculty at NSU.

The Fort Lauderdale, Florida resident was the recipient of this prestigious award in recognition of her numerous accomplishments and contributions to pharmacy and public health at the local, state, national, and international level over her 7 year career in health care services.

Dr. Garcia has been a public health community activist serving on various medical missions and coordinated health fairs at the Florida Capitol. In addition to her professional association involvement with the Florida Pharmacy Association she has participated and served on numerous national and international committee appointments consistent with the FPA mission “United to Advance Health Care and Pharmacy Practice.

Throughout her distinguished career Angela as been recognized by her peers with numerous awards and acknowledgement of her services to her community.

ABOUT THE JAMES H. BEAL AWARD - This award is given annually to recognize the “Pharmacist of the Year” – who has rendered outstanding service to pharmacy within the past five years. It is the Florida Pharmacy Association’s most prestigious honor to a Florida pharmacist. 

ABOUT THE FLORIDA PHARMACY ASSOCIATION – The FPA is a state wide professional pharmacy organization united to advance healthcare and pharmacy practice.

Florida Pharmacy Association

Sign In

Latest News

7/11/2018 » 7/15/2018
2018 Exhibitor Information - FPA Annual Meeting and SE Gatherin

7/12/2018 » 7/15/2018
128th Annual FPA Meeting and Convention - Bonita Springs

7/21/2018 » 7/28/2018
FPA CE at SEA - 2018

8/5/2018 » 8/8/2018
35th Annual Southeastern Gatherin' - Destin

  Florida Pharmacy Association
610 North Adams Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32301
Ph: (850) 222-2400

 © Florida Pharmacy Association All Rights Reserved